top of page

Studio One Freedom Sounds is the new collection from Soul Jazz/Studio One focussing on the intense period in the second half of the 1960s when Studio One’s vast and unbeatable output of ska, soul, rock steady and reggae made it literally one of the hottest musical empires in the world.

During this highly successful period, Clement ‘Sir Coxsone’ Dodd released hundreds and hundreds of superlative singles seemingly on an almost daily basis, in the process making huge stars out of Jamaican singers such as Alton Ellis, Delroy Wilson, The Wailers, Slim Smith, Jackie Opel and many more.

Powered by the finest in-house musicians working in Jamaica, whether it was The Skatalites, Jackie Mittoo’s Soul Brothers, The Sounds Dimension or The Soul Vendors, Studio One functioned as hit factory on the scale of Motown in the USA, shaping and defining reggae music for decades to come.

Singlehandedly Studio One’s founder Clement Dodd was able to create the most successful vertically-integrated record company that Jamaica had ever known with pressing plant, printers, studio, shops, and sound systems all running at once, with over 50 employees and hundreds of artists working with Studio One during this time.

Studio One Freedom Sounds tells the story of Studio One in the 1960s with a stunning set of ska, soul, rock steady and reggae killer tunes as well as informative sleevenotes and track-by-track info by Noel Hawks. The album is released as deluxe CD.


1 Don Drummond & The Skatalites – Rain Or Shine
2 The Gaylads – Morning Sun
3 Delroy Wilson – Just Because Of You
4 Alton Ellis – Sunday Coming
5 Jackie Opel – I Am What I Am
6 Peter Tosh – I Am The Toughest
7 Delroy Wilson – Get Ready
8 Mr Foundation – Timo-Oh
9 Roland Alphonso & The Soul Brothers – Provocation
10 Leroy & Rocky – Love Me Girl
11 Slim & Delroy – Look Who Is Back Again
12 The Skatalites – Spread Satin
13 Barrington Spence – Contemplating Mind
14 Ernest Ranglin – Psychedelic Rock
15 Bob Marley & The Wailers – Destiny
16 Roland Alphonso – Reggae In The Grass
17 Zoot Simms – We Can Talk It Over
18 Jackie Mittoo – Hi Jack

VARIOUS CD Studio One Freedom Sounds (Studio One In The 1960s)

€19.90 Regular Price
€14.90Sale Price
  • Label: Soul Jazz Records ‎– SJR CD415

    Format: CD, Compilation

    Country: UK

    Released: 2018

bottom of page